

April 5, 2023

Assemblymember Chris Holden Chairman, Assembly Appropriations Committee 1021 O Street, Suite 5650 Sacramento, CA 95814

Re: Assembly Bill 29 (Gabriel) - SPONSOR

Dear Chairman Holden,

The California State Association of Psychiatrists (CSAP) is proud to sponsor AB 29 (Gabriel), which will create a voluntary and confidential Do Not Sell List for firearm purchases across the state.

There is strong evidence that access to firearms, whether from household availability or a new purchase, is associated with an increased risk of suicide. According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, suicides make up 52% of all firearm deaths in California, and more than one-third of all suicides in California are by firearm. In 2019, there were 1,586 firearm suicide deaths in California, including 54 children and teens.

This decision could be preventable. A recent study found that close to a third of the general population and more than 40% of those with previously diagnosed mental health concerns would add their name to a Do Not Sell List if they had the option.

AB 29 will address mental health as it pertains to our gun violence epidemic by creating a platform to allow California residents to voluntarily and confidentially add their own name to the California Do Not Sell List for firearms, which prohibits an individual from purchasing a firearm.

This bill provides those battling suicidal thoughts and struggling with severe mental health issues an option to protect themselves by temporarily limiting their access to purchase firearms during a time of crisis. We know suicide can be an impulsive decision that most survivors regret. Guns are lethal and, unfortunately, rarely allow for second chances. This bill takes action on the data that shows a correlation between mental illness, suicidal thoughts, and gun purchases.

For these reasons, CSAP is pleased to sponsor AB 29 and respectfully requests your aye vote on this measure.

Sincerely,

Paul Yoder Legislative Advocate

CC: Assemblymember Jesse Gabriel

Members, Assembly Appropriations Committee